Must It Always Be So?


 

“If I could take all my parts with me when I go somewhere, and not have to say to one of them, ‘No, you stay home tonight, you won’t be welcome,’ because I’m going to an all-white party where I can be gay, but not Black. Or I’m going to a Black poetry reading, and half the poets are antihomosexual, or thousands of situations where something of what I am cannot come with me. The day all the different parts of me can come along, we would have what I would call a revolution. ”  ~ Pat Parker

I found this quote almost 2 years ago.  In one paragraph Ms. Parker expressed what I went through being not white and queer.  While I had known myself that I was queer for years, at that point I had only been out publically (except for the parental “don’t ask, don’t tell”) for about 3 years. 

At work, will continue with edit at later time. ~ swan

Leave a Reply

