Great film, check and see if it’s in your area soon.


Getting ready for this book club means that I have been exploring with a little more depth what it means for me to be black and lesbian.  This is made all the more difficult because I don’t have any black, lesbian friends.  In fact, I don’t have that many gay friends to begin with.  I am finding it increasingly difficult to search out gay functions and be the token black or search out black functions and have to deal with homophobia.  This is why I take the writer Pat Parker’s quote so close to heart.

“If I could take all my parts with me when I go somewhere, and not have to say to one of them, ‘No, you stay home tonight, you won’t be welcome,’ because I’m going to an all-white party where I can be gay, but not Black. Or I’m going to a Black poetry reading, and half the poets are antihomosexual, or thousands of situations where something of what I am cannot come with me. The day all the different parts of me can come along, we would have what I would call a revolution. “

A couple of months ago I had the pleasure of driving up to Hampshire College in Amherst to see a screening of a great movie about black lesbians.  I’ve included the trailer below.  It was great.  The Q&A session with the director at the end was equally enlightening.  Check it out then go to the MySpace page and WordPress blog for more information.

One comment

  1. I LOVE this doc! I saw it when it first came out last year in DC (I believe the director is from DC or the DC area)and it was phenomenal to be in an auditorium FULL of black LBTQ women. It was a moment I will not soon forget. See this if/when you can and buy it on DVD if/when you can!

Leave a Reply

