I’m back. Finally.


Yes, I became one of those bloggers.  My blog was left dormant for months on end and I barely looked at it.  But I was fighting for my apartment because unemployment ran out and I had to really hustle when still no jobs appeared on the horizon.  Then when I did find a job, I spent the first few months working 60-70 hour weeks to pay back rent and bills and get something in the savings account.  That shit can wear on you.

Here’s the thing.  I now work at a bank and not just any department, I work at the Customer Service call center.  And while I’m happy to finally have a paycheck coming in, rest assured that many a post will come from my experiences there.  Also, the horrible work environment that offers no chance at advancement serves to not make me too comfortable so I can hurry up and finish school and get the hell out of there.

What I’m interested to know is how the book club has fared since my absence.  I feel really guilty about having to drop it like that.  I haven’t even had time to read a real book in months.  I’m trying to change that.

Even though I haven’t been writing, my mind has been working like crazy and it’s just a matter of organizing it a bit more coherently.  A theme that I will pick up in the next post however his the racial undertones (and in some cases, overtones) of the current right-wing hysteria and how their rabid anti-intellectualism gets mixed fear and current racist feelings to create this “movement” that the corporate whores in the Republican party exploit to fuck them further.  So stay tuned.

I’m also adding new, exciting links to the right that I’ve stumbled across lately.  These are mostly to the “Web Comics” section because I’m finding some great things out there.

One comment

  1. I’m flattered you chose to list The Springfield Institute. We’ve been working hard, and it’s good to know who’s reading. Welcome back. I look forward to seeing more posts.

    Also, you and your readers may be interested in this. Our own Maryann Mohamoud will be the 2010 International Women’s Day speaker at Smith College. She will lead a discussion and screen her film, The Secret Pain, about her life and work as an FGM survivor. Wed. March 10th at 4:30PM at the Mwange Cultural Center at Smith College.

    Thank you.
    Aron

Leave a Reply

