Failed Kidneys Could Equal More Blog Posts


So, I wasn’t posting much because I was busy working overtime. I bought a new car and was pretty much getting my life on track and feeling like a real grown up for the first time in my life. I had decided to quit smoking, was getting ready to make a consultation appointment for lap band and making plans to begin school in the fall.

Then a couple of weeks ago I started getting a fever and chills. I thought my nephew had given me his bug because I had been spending a lot of time with him. This was a Friday. Saturday I spend my entire day off in bed popping pain pills because now I had abdominal pains. Now a normal person would have contacted their doctor at this point. Not me. See, I hadn’t seen a doctor in years because 1) I have spent most of my adult life without health insurance so only went to the ER for my twisted back and 2) pretty much believed that the only thing they would tell me is that I’m fat and stop smoking.

By Sunday, I stumble into work because I can’t call in determined to go to the ER after my shift because I’m pretty sure, after some internet research, that I have a kidney infection and I’m going to need a good dose of some antibiotics. After a 4 1/2 hour wait in Mercy Hospital’s ER I make it to get my blood drawn and make it to a bed. After a 2 minute face to face with the ER doc, I guess my labs were fucked because a stream of people kept coming in asking me a bunch of questions like have I done drugs, do I have a history of high blood pressure, how much do I drink, etc. Turns out my kidneys are only operating at 5% and I was basically full of toxins. Oh, and I was right, did have a kidney infection too.

So, I am now 34 years old with chronic kidney failure, going to dialysis 3 times a week for 4 hours (please stand back, sexy ladies) and having to work on getting a transplant. I’ve quit drinking, smoking (everything) and am sticking to a renal diet. But the upside to all of this is that I’m forced to sit in a chair and be still for a bit. So that means lots more reading and once I get my netbook, lots more entries.

One comment

  1. prof susurro · · Reply

    I’m really sorry to hear this & will keep you in my thoughts; hopefully your doctors are able to find a good match for you on the donor list soon

Leave a Reply

