5 Covers of . . .


As I’ve explained in a previous post, I love cover songs.  This helps me with my latest earworm, Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used To Know” because there are people out there doing some real, quality covers so I can change it up a bit.  I can’t get enough of this song.

What I’m going to do is post the video for the original song even though you would have had to have been living under a rock for the past year not to have heard it.  Then I’m going to post the 5 best covers that I’ve come across on YouTube.  I’ll even make it a little interactive by including a poll at the end to let you vote on your favorite cover.  If there’s someone you think I missed, feel free to include a link to their video in the comment section.  You can also make suggestions in the comments for other songs you want to see covers for.

So, first up, the original.  (BTW – I can’t thank this song enough for introducing me to Kimbra, the female vocalist.  Seriously, check her out.)

Cover #1 Walk Off The Earth – This is almost as popular as the original.  The 5 people/1 guitar thing kicks ass also.

Cover #2Pentatonix – Randomly clicked on this video today.  It’s the one that gave me the whole idea for this post.  Found out that they competed on “Sing Off” which I did not even know existed.  I especially like the way the camera bounces with them for the breakdown.

Cover #3ARMY of 3 – This is a side project of singer/songwriter Ingrid Michaelson.  I don’t know who the other two people are since she’s the only one in the video and it looks like she plays all the instruments.

Cover #4Rita Ora – Don’t really know who she is.  It looks like she’s popular in the UK.  I really like her voice and she does good covers.  Sorry there’s no actual video footage but I think her version deserves to be here anyway.  I like the soulful spin she puts on it.

Cover #5Peter Hollens feat. Evynne – Another strictly YouTube find.  Great use of looper.  Great editing of video.  Real professional video for someone I’ve never heard of before.

So so now’s the time you all tell me which one you liked best.  Here’s the poll:

Leave a Reply

