A Kiki with Michael Sam


BlaQueer

Michael Sam

Let’s Have A Kiki

“I’m sorry; did I answer your question right?” Michael Sam’s voice is not necessarily soft, nor is it smooth but what it is, is respectful and earnest. This is at least the third time he has worried if his answer to my questions are correct. “It is fine; just think of this as us having a kiki in a cafe.” Instantly Sam’s brow furrows, he briefly squints his eyes and asks, “A what?” The language is foreign to him. “A kiki. It is black gay slang for when friends get together to laugh and talk, basically it’s shooting the shit.” His brow releases its wrinkles and he slightly smiles, “Oh; I thought you said ‘kinky.’ I was like, ‘what’? A ‘kiki’? I have never heard of that?” The fact that he didn’t speak the language was not shocking to me; I had my suspicion…

View original post 2,516 more words

Leave a Reply

